Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: click here to learn the steps we`re taking for 2021 travel!

Quito

Quito, Équateur: Notre guide détaillé, actualisé en 2020, décrit comment vous rendre ici, où dormir, que faire et bien plus.

Quito en résumé

  • Capitale de L’Équateur.
  • C’est la deuxième capitale (officielle) la plus haute du monde.
  • C’est la deuxième ville la plus peuplée d’Équateur, avec environ 2 millions d’habitants.
  • Son centre historique est l’un des mieux préservés d’Amérique Latine.

Contenu du guide de Quito:

  1. Comment vous rendre à Quito – Comparez vos options de transport.
  2. Les excursions populaires de Quito – Une liste des activités favorites de milliers de voyageurs.
  3. Les immanquables de Quito – Les sites à voir absolument.
  4. Art & Culture à Quito – Les meilleurs musées et les endroits culturels à visiter.
  5. La vie nocturne à Quito. – Les endroits sympas où boire un verre
  6. Conseils de sécurité – Ce qu’il faut savoir pour voyager sans risque.
  7. Où séjourner à Quito – Les meilleurs quartiers où trouver votre hôtel.

Lisez ci-dessous votre guide complet sur Quito, écrit par nos guides locaux et qui à déjà aidé des milliers de voyageurs à réussir leurs aventures Équateur.

COMMENT VOUS RENDRE À QUITO

Si vous arrivez à Quito par avion, vous atterrirez à l’aéroport international Mariscal Sucre de Quito. Il se situe à l’extérieur de la ville. Vous pourrez rejoindre le centre de Quito avec le bus de l’aéroport « Airport Express », ou bien par bus publics ou taxis.

Si vous rejoignez Quito par bus depuis le sud de l’Équateur ou le Pérou, nous vous recommandons bien évidemment nos bus Ecuador Hop. Notre concept unique vous permet de découvrir les trésors cachés sur votre route, tout en bénéficiant d’un itinéraire flexible et personnalisable. Parcourez nos tickets de bus ici.

LES EXCURSIONS POPULAIRES DE QUITO

Cotopaxi National Park

Excursion d’une journée au COTOPAXI

Cotopaxi, le plus haut volcan actif du monde, est une destination prisée des aventuriers et des alpinistes qui souhaitent ajouter ce sommet emblématique à leur liste de conquêtes.
Si vous recherchez comment profiter pleinement de la beauté de ce milieu sans avoir à répondre au challenge extrême d’une ascension, visitez tranquillement
le Parc National Cotopaxi. Des excursion d’une journée complète au départ de Quito vous permettent de vous baladez au milieu de ce merveilleux paysage naturel, l’un des plus beaux endroits en l’Équateur.

LA FORÊT DE NUAGES DE MINDO

Située à 8 heures de la ville de Quito, la forêt de nuages de Mindo est un endroit incroyable pour explorer la jungle des hautes terres de l’Équateur. Vous pouvez faire ici des activités de plein air excitantes (tyrolienne et descente de rivière en bouée), ou bien profitez simplement d’un des paysages les plus riches en biodiversité de la planète. La randonnées et l’observation des oiseaux sont d’autres activités phares de Mindo. Des excursions d’une ou deux journées dans cette forêt sont faciles à organiser depuis Quito.

LES SOURCES CHAUDES DE PAPALLACTA

Si vous cherchez à vous détendre voir même vous ressourcer, une excursion à Papallacta vous fera le plus grand bien. Situées à environ 55 kilomètres de Quito, dans une des régions les plus hautes de l’Équateur, on dit que ces sources chaudes naturelles possèdent des qualités curatives. Vous y passerez un moment très agréable et reviendrez à Quito totalement reposé. Vous pourrez préparer votre excursion et réserver votre hôtel là-bas depuis Quito.

LES IMMANQUABLES DE QUITO

LE TÉLÉPHÉRIQUE DE QUITO

Situé à l’est de la ville, le “Quito Teleferico” est un moyen facile et peu coûteux d’obtenir de superbes vues panoramiques sur la ville et les volcans aux alentours. Le téléphérique vous amène à la base du volcan Pichincha, où vous pouvez vous arrêter admirer la vue avant de partir en randonnée ou à cheval jusqu’au sommet. Assurez-vous de porter des vêtements chauds, car il peut faire très froid en haut.

LE MILIEU DU MONDE

Bien que la ligne de l’équateur traverse au total 13, aucun autre pays ne peut mieux exploiter ce phénomène que le pays qui porte son nom: l’Équateur. Visitez le monument de la Mitad del Mundo (“milieu du monde”), participez aux activités ludiques qu’il propose et découvrez son musée à proximité. Vous pourrez préparer votre excursion facilement depuis Quito.

BASILIQUE DU VOEU NATIONAL

Cette magnifique basilique néo-gothique a été construite en partie par le gouvernement équatorien à la fin des années 1800 et au début des années 1900. Elle symbolise la dévotion de la nation au Sacré-Cœur, un rituel répandu de la religion catholique. La construction de l’église n’est techniquement toujours pas terminée ce jour. La légende locale affirme que son achèvement, marquera la fin du monde.

LE MARCHÉ D’OTAVALO

Ce marché d’artisanat en plein air est le plus grand d’Amérique du Sud. Vous trouverez ici des souvenirs authentiques à des prix très intéressants. La ville d’Otavalo est située à environ 110 km au nord de la ville de Quito et est accessible en bus. La meilleure façon de vous y rendre et de découvrir ce marché, est de faire une visite organisée avec un guide. Vous rencontrerez quelques artisans y visiterez leur ateliers.

ARTS & CULTURE À QUITO

Art & Culture à Quito:

MUSEO NACIONAL DEL BANCO CENTRAL:

Ce musée complet couvre l’ensemble de l’histoire de l’Équateur, de la préhistoire à l’époque moderne. Ne manquez pas de visiter el Museo Nacional del Banco Central, si vous êtes intéressé par l’histoire, la culture et l’art.

MUSEO DE LA CIUDAD:

Ce musée très intéressant aide les visiteurs à découvrir l’histoire de la ville de Quito, de l’époque précolombienne à l’époque moderne. Le Museo de la Ciudad est particulièrement connu pour ses projections visuelles ainsi que pour l’architecture du bâtiment lui-même, un bâtiment colonial magnifiquement restauré situé dans le centre historique de Quito.

MUSEO GUAYASAMÍN

Ce musée est situé dans l’ancienne maison du peintre équatorien Oswaldo Guayasamín. Il présente sa vie et ses œuvres. Guayasamín était également un collectionneur passionné. Vous pourrez admirer un certain nombre d’artefacts précolombiens magnifiques.

LA VIE NOCTURNE À QUITO

Nightlife in Quito:

FINN McCOOLS:

Ce pub irlandais convivial et chaleureux reçoit tous types de publics: backpackers, routards, expatriés, locaux et autres. Venez ici vous rafraîchir avec une bonne bière, savourez votre plat de nachos et regardez votre match à la tv tout en jouant au billard.

DIRTY SANCHEZ:

Ce petit endroit branché au nom provocant, situé dans le quartier Mariscal de Quito est très apprécié des voyageurs et de la communauté des expatriés. Le bar propose de délicieux, des prix raisonnables et parfois de la musique en live.

BANDIDO BREWING:

Si vous êtes un amateur de bière artisanale, vous serez ravi d’apprendre qu’il existe à Quito une petite brasserie artisanale: Bandido Brewing. Dégustez ici d’excellentes pizzas et hamburgers accompagnés des meilleures bières d’Équateur.

BUNGALO 6:

Bungalow 6 est l’une des discothèques les plus connues de Quito. Il joue un mélange de musique pop, de musique EDM et de musique latine. Cet endroit est très populaire auprès des étrangers et des locaux. C’est incontestablement l’un des endroits préférés pour faire la fête à Quito.

Shopping et souvenirs à Quito:

MARCHÉ ARTISANAL LA MARISCAL:

Ce marché coloré est l’un des meilleurs endroits à Quito pour trouver des produits artisanaux et locaux. Des pulls en alpaga aux écharpes en passant par des figurines sculptées – cet endroit a tout pour plaire. Le Mercado Artesanal La Mariscal est le lieu idéal pour trouver vos souvenirs et vos cadeaux pour vos proches.

FOLKLORE OLGA FISCH:

Cette boutique a été fondée par la designer Olga Fisch, une immigrée hongroise installée en Équateur, qui a travaillé avec des artistes autochtones pour associer l’artisanat traditionnel à des concepts d’art raffinés. Folklore Olga Fisch est un excellent endroit à visiter pour son artisanat et ses vêtements de haute qualité.

QUICENTRO:

Ce centre commercial haut de gamme est un endroit idéal pour faire des emplettes de produits de haut de gamme ou manger un morceau dans un quartier agréable de Quito. Trois étages et une grande variété de magasins, vous trouverez de tout à Quicentro.

CONSEILS DE SÉCURITÉ

  • Évitez si possible d’utiliser des distributeurs automatiques la nuit.
  • Essayez de ne jamais avoir trop d’argent liquide sur vous. Sortez juste avec ce dont vous avez besoin pour votre journée.
  • Soyez prudents lorsque vous arrêtez un taxi dans la rue. Lorsque cela est possible, demandez à votre hôtel de vous appelez un taxi de confiance.
  • Restez discrets lorsque vous utilisez votre téléphone, appareil photo ou carte de crédit dans la rue.
  • Certains quartiers qui peuvent se visiter le jour deviennent assez sensibles à parcourir une fois la nuit tombée (c’est le cas de la vieille ville de Quito). Faites attention!
  • Emportez une copie couleur de votre passeport au lieu de l’original.
  • Méfiez-vous si un étranger vous propose quelque chose gratuitement. Cela peut faire partie d’une arnaque.
  • Restez attentif à votre environnement.

OÙ SÉJOURNER À QUITO

LE CENTRE HISTORIQUE

Quito abrite le centre colonial le plus vaste et le mieux préservé d’Amérique du Sud. Si vous séjournez ici, vous serez proche de nombreuses attractions touristiques, ainsi que de plusieurs de ses meilleurs restaurants et bars.

LA MARISCAL

Le quartier de La Mariscal est le plus populaire de Quito auprès des voyageurs. Profitez de la vie nocturne animée et séjournez dans l’un des nombreux hôtels qu’on y trouve ici.

LA FLORESTA

Le quartier bohème de Quito est une autre excellente option pour les voyageurs. Vous y trouverez les meilleures galeries d’art et théâtres indépendants, ainsi que les restaurants gastronomiques parmi les plus délicieux de la ville.

Riobamba
Montañita
Cuenca
Guayaquil
Baños
Alausí
Need Help? Click Here!
Cresta Social Messenger
Close chat
Envoyez-nous un WhatsApp!
Cresta Social Messenger

Quito

Quito, Ecuador: Our 2019 detailed guide from how to get there, where to stay, what to do and much much more!

Quito, Ecuador Brief Summary

  • Capital city of Ecuador.
  • It is the second-highest official capital city in the world.
  • It is the second most-populous city in Ecuador, with nearly 2 million people.
  • It has one of the best-preserved historic centers in the Americas

Quito Guide Contents:

  1. How To Get To Quito – Compare transportation options.
  2. Sightseeing & Tours In Quito– Most popular activities for travellers.
  3. Must See In Quito– The sights you cannot miss.
  4. Arts & Culture In Quito– The best museums and areas with cultural art.
  5. Nightlife In Quito – Good places to go for a drink.
  6. Quito Safety Tips – Safety issues to be aware of.
  7. Where To Stay In Quito – A few of the best photos of Quito.

Below, we have created our extensive guide to Quito based on our expert local knowledge and experience transporting countless people in Ecuador each year.

HOW TO GET TO QUITO

Most visitors to Quito will arrive either by air or by bus. Aeropuerto Internacional Mariscal Sucre in Quito is Ecuador’s busiest airport and an important regional transit hub. Unfortunately, the airport is located well outside of the city limits. Options to get from the airport to the city include an Airport Express bus, public buses or taxis.

For those planning to arrive to Quito by bus, it’s highly recommended to use Ecuador Hop buses if traveling from points further south in Ecuador or from Peru. Ecuador Hop’s unique hop on hop off style of service allows travelers to see the country’s best hidden gems with a totally flexible itinerary. Learn more about the different passes available here.

SIGHTSEEING AND TOURS IN QUITO

Cotopaxi National Park

COTOPAXI FULL DAY TOUR

Snow-capped Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world, is a popular destination for adventurers and climbers looking to add this iconic peak to their list of conquests. Those looking for something a little simpler can visit Cotopaxi National Park on a full day tour from Quito to enjoy an afternoon of hiking set amidst the lovely natural scenery of one of Ecuador’s most beautiful places.

MINDO CLOUD FOREST TOUR

Located just 8 hours from the city of Quito, the Mindo Cloud Forest is an incredible place to experience the natural wonders of Ecuador’s highland jungle. Here you can par
ticipate in thrilling outdoor activities such as zip-lining and river tubing or simply enjoy the natural scenery of one of Earth’s most biodiverse places through hiking or bird-watching excursions. One or two day trips to the Mindo Cloud Forest are common and easily arranged from Quito.

PAPALLACTA HOT SPRINGS

The most rejuvenating way to escape Quito is to plan a day of leisure at the Papallacta Hot Springs, located about 55 kilometers from the city in Ecuador’s highest-elevation settlement. These natural hot springs located on the outskirts of town are said to possess healing qualities, and the sublime scenery also contributes to the overall relaxing feel. Tours and hotels are easily arranged from Quito.

MUST SEE IN QUITO

QUITO TELEFERICO

Located on the eastern edge of the city, the Quito Teleferico (cable car or gondola) is a cheap and easy way to catch some stunning panoramic views of the city and the volcanoes that dominate the skyline. The cable car brings you up to the base of the nearby Pichincha Volcano, and from there you can stop to take in the views before embarking on a hike or horse ride to the summit. Make sure you dress in warm clothes, as the top can be very chilly!

MITAD DEL MUNDO

Though the equator passes through 13 countries in total, no country has a greater claim to being the true home of this hemispheric dividing line than the country that was named for it: Ecuador. Commemorate your trip to this special country by paying a visit to the monument of Mitad del Mundo, which means “Middle of the World” in Spanish. Trips to the Mitad del Mundo from Quito are common, and there is plenty to do once you get there– you can find restaurants, souvenir shops and even a museum nearby.

BASILICA OF THE NATIONAL VOW

This gorgeous neo-Gothic basilica was partially built by the Ecuadorian government in the late 1800s and early 1900s as a symbol of the nation’s devotion to the Sacred Heart, a widespread Roman Catholic ritual. The church remains technically unfinished to this day, and local legend holds that when it’s finally finished, it will signal the end of the world.

OTAVALO MARKETPLACE

This largest outdoor market in South America is a great place to pick up authentic handcrafted souvenirs at good prices. The town of Otavalo is located about 110 kilometers north of the city of Quito and is accessible by public bus, but the best way to experience the market is by taking a pre-planned tour with a guide who can escort you to some of the workshops where these artisanal goods are made.

ARTS & CULTURE IN QUITO

Arts & Culture in Quito:

MUSEO NACIONAL DEL BANCO CENTRAL:

This comprehensive museum covers the entire length of Ecuadorian history, from prehistoric to modern times. The Museo Nacional del Banco Central should be considered a must-see attraction for visitors who are interested in history, culture, or art.

MUSEO DE LA CIUDAD:

This interesting museum helps visitors learn the story of the city of Quito, from Pre-Columbian times to the modern day. The Museo de la Ciudad is particularly known for its beautiful visual displays as well as the architecture of the building itself, a gorgeously-restored colonial building in the historic center of Quito.

GUAYASAMÍN MUSEUM

This museum is located in the former home of Ecuadorian painter Oswaldo Guayasamín and showcases his life and works. Guayasamín was also a keen collector, so you’ll be able to see a number of beautiful pre-Columbian artifacts on display here as well.

NIGHTLIFE IN QUITO

Nightlife in Quito:

FINN McCOOLS:

This friendly and inviting Irish pub is home to all types of people: backpackers, expats, locals and more. Come here to enjoy a drink and some delicious pub food while you watch live sporting events or play billiards.

DIRTY SANCHEZ:

This hip little spot with a cheeky name in Quito’s Mariscal district is popular among travelers and the local expat community. The bar features well-crafted cocktails, reasonable prices, and occasional live music.

BANDIDO BREWING:

Craft beer fans will be excited to learn that Quito has its very own craft microbrewery: Bandido Brewing. Stop in here to enjoy delicious pizzas and burgers while sampling several different types of artisanal brews.

BUNGALO 6:

One of Quito’s most well-known discotecas, Bungalow 6 plays a mix of pop music, EDM and Latin dance music that is popular with both foreigners and locals alike. Discover why this is one of the city’s most popular places to party!

Souvenirs & Shopping in Quito:

MERCADO ARTESANAL LA MARISCAL:

This colorful marketplace is one of the best places in Quito to find handcrafted and artisanal goods, from alpaca sweaters and scarves to carved figurines–this place has everything. The Mercado Artesanal La Mariscal is the ideal place to go shopping for souvenirs and gifts.

FOLKLORE OLGA FISCH:

This store was founded by the late designer Olga Fisch, a Hungarian immigrant to Ecuador who worked with indigenous artists to blend traditional crafts with fine art concepts. Folklore Olga Fisch is an excellent place to visit for high-quality crafts and clothing.

Artesanos Don Bosco

QUICENTRO:

This upscale mall is a great place to shop for luxury goods or have a bite to eat in a nice part of Quito. Three stories tall and featuring a large variety of stores, there’s something at Quicentro for all types

QUITO SAFETY TIPS

  • Avoid using ATM machines at night if possible.
  • Only carry as much money as you’ll need for the next few days, never large sums of cash.
  • Be careful about hailing taxis from the street. Whenever possible, ask your hotel or hostel to order a trusted taxi service for you.
  • Try not to flash valuables like cell phones, watches, cash or credit cards in public.
  • Be aware of your surroundings after dark, especially around Quito’s Old Town area, which can be quite unsafe at night.
  • Carry a color copy of your passport instead of carrying the original document.
  • Be wary if you’re approached by a stranger offering you anything for free, as this can be part of a scam.
  • Don’t be distracted. Keep aware of your surroundings.

WHERE TO STAY IN QUITO

QUITO HISTORIC CENTER

Quito is home to the largest and best preserved colonial center in South America. Those who stay in Quito’s Historic Center will be very close to many of the city’s famous tourist attractions, as well as many of its best restaurants and bars.

LA MARISCAL

The district of La Mariscal is the most popular area of Quito with travelers, who take advantage of the area’s rich nightlife and stay at one of the many hotels and hostels located in the neighborhood.

LA FLORESTA

Quito’s bohemian district is another great option for travelers. Here is where you’ll find the best art galleries and indie theaters as well as some of the most delicious gourmet food and drink in the city.